“Do You Remember” – (a poem)

I think about you sometimes.
And I wonder if you think of me.
Do you reminisce about the little girl
I used to be?
The little girl so wild and free.
The little girl that loved you so deeply.
Do you remember how much
I loved you?
Do you remember how much
I craved your hugs, your touch?
Do you remember how special
our love was?

I think about you sometimes.
And I remember how proud
I was to be a miniature version of you.
I remember how we laughed.
I remember how we prayed at night.
I remember looking at your beard
And hairy chest and thinking
My daddy looks alright.
I remember thinking everything
was fine.

Then I think about how sometimes
You did the unthinkable and left me.
And I really wonder if you think of me.
Do you think about your only daughter?
Do you remember telling me I have to be
the one to call my father?
Shouldn't you be the one calling me?
Do you remember our years of silence?
Was it wrong I told my friends
that you were dead?
Do you remember you told me
how you loved me?
Well does loving me mean every man
I meet should treat me like my dad?

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

